Kentucky, West Virginia enact bans on transgender medical treatments for minors

At least 11 states have now enacted laws restricting or banning transgender medical procedures for minors, including Arkansas, Arizona, Georgia, Iowa, Kentucky, Mississippi, Tennessee, Utah, South Dakota and West Virginia

Kentucky and neighboring West Virginia on Wednesday became the latest states to enact laws restricting individuals under the age of 18 from accessing transgender medical treatments.

After lopsided votes in both houses of the Kentucky legislature, Republican supermajorities overrode Democratic Gov. Andy Beshear's veto of legislation that prohibits cross-sex hormone therapies and sex-reassignment surgeries for minors, as well as restricts bathroom use by biological sex. The law also bans instruction about sexual orientation and gender identity in schools and permits teachers to decline to use a student's preferred pronouns.

The Senate voted 29-8 to override Beshear's veto. Shortly afterward, the House voted 76-23 to complete the override and enact the bill into law.

Continue reading HERE

Source:

https://www.foxnews.com/politics/kentucky-west-virginia-enact-bans-transgender-medical-treatments-minors

[Disclaimer]